Mark Newman to Celebrate Birthday on January 13 with Gig at Legendary Bitter End

Posted Jan. 3, 2020

Set to Bring His "Empirical Truth" Record to Life with Live Performance Featuring Artists Who Played on the Album

Mark Newman to Celebrate Birthday on January 13 with Gig at Legendary Bitter End

Jan 2020 (New York, NY) - On Monday, January 13, 2020 starting at 8pm, singer/songwriter/guitarist Mark Newman will be celebrating his birthday at one of the spots where he first cut his teeth in the business, performing selections from his latest album "Empirical Truth" alongside many of the artists who played on the record - including keyboardist Georgie Wood, drummer Shawn Murray, bassist Craig Privett, vocalist Naomi Margolin and violinist Tony Montalbo - on hallowed ground for the NYC music scene; the legendary Bitter End, located at 147 Bleeker Street, NYC.

Mark Newman is a well travelled and in demand professional musician who has spent the better part of five decades playing with an eclectic mix of noted musical talents from John Oates and Sting, to Elvis Costello and Travis Tritt. His most recent offering, "Empirical Truth" was the 2019 Winner of The Long Island Blues Society Best Album Category and will be representing the NY area in competition at the International Blues Challenge in Memphis later in January.

Listen to Empirical Truth on Spotify here.

A multi stringsman, Mark has mastered electric/acoustic/lap steel guitar as well as the mandolin and dobro. His musical prowess has taken him around the world several times over; working alongside many other soul, blues, and rock greats of our time including Jim McCarty (The Yardbirds), Willy DeVille (Mink DeVille), Sam The Sham, Bobby Whitlock (Derek and the Dominos) and Sam Moore (Sam & Dave). As an opening act, Mark has also played dates with Delbert McClinton, Les Dudek, The Doobie Brothers, Don Felder of The Eagles, David Bromberg and many others.

Packed with Newman's usual penchant for dynamic storytelling and political commentary throughout his lyrics, "Empirical Truth" certainly lives up to its name. With songs ranging in topic from the state of gun control in the U.S. to the Dakota Access Pipeline, an innocent man blamed for murder, love and loss and even a few covers from Little Feat, John Oates, and more - the album is brimming with a dynamic mix of Americana/Blues/Pop and slide-guitar work from start to finish.

Empirical Truth Track Listing:

1. Scapegoat
2. Life Without You
3. Mississippi Mile
4. When I Aim My Gun
5. Seven Days
6. One More Song About A Highway
7. Sharin' The Blues
8. Pipeline
9. Are You Lonely For Me
10. Everything You Know
11. Roll Um Easy
12. Lycanthropy

Shop Boutique Amps, Guitar and More at Blues City Music